About Us
Business Review

Our Strategy

Capitalising on our heritage and 80 years’ of experience in serving the children and youth in Hong Kong, BGCA strives to be the leading and most respected NGO in delivering services for the development of our young generation.

Over the past 80 years, we have built a strong network with children, youth and their families. This enables us to obtain greater insights into their real concerns and challenges, explore new ideas and approaches to help them tackle challenges, and speak on their behalf to advocate children/youth- friendly policies.

Through empirical studies and researches, we are committed to offering evidence-based analysis and recommendations to influence public agenda. We are also proactive to share our opinions and advocate on topical issues impacting our younger generation, such as on child custody and access arrangements, free kindergarten education policy, children’s rights, subsidies to low-income families, “One belt one road” initiatives and the handling of domestic violence and sexual assaults involving children and young people etc.

BGCA moves with the times, we regularly revisit our strategic goals and service direction to keep pace and meet with the changing needs of our community. We set clear focuses and priorities to optimise our resources so that we can deliver greater values for our society and for the long-term benefits of children and youth development. We are determined to embrace the diversity of our talents, to build synergies and collaborations with different stakeholders, and to prepare ourselves for embarking on new and exciting opportunities ahead.

Corporate Governance

BGCA believes that sound corporate governance is the key foundation to providing quality service. BGCA Board has devoted conscious efforts to continually enhance the corporate governance system, processes and practices in the past year. Dr. Ng Yin Ming, our new Chairman, together with the dedicated support of all committee members, will continue to lead BGCA to achieve its mission by adhering to the highest level of integrity, stewardship, transparency and accountability. BGCA Board puts strong emphasis to uphold good corporate governance practices. More details of the work done in the year can be found in the separate Corporate Governance section (page 23 to 26) of this report.

Our Funding and Our Core Services

Total Income and Expenditure during 2015-16 amounted to HK$458 million and HK$438 million respectively. 59% of the annual income came from Government subvention while the rest was from membership fees and charges, corporate sponsorships and funding supports from charitable trusts, public donations, other fund-raising initiatives as well as income from the Headquarters (HQ) building and interest earned.

We are most grateful to the HKSAR Government for the continued financial support and to the Social Welfare Department (SWD) for its valuable guidance. We wish to specially thank the many kind-hearted donors, volunteers and public-spirited corporations. Our heartiest thanks also go to the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, Lee Hysan Foundation and Sun Hung Kei Properties Charitable Fund Limited etc. for their generous support.

Current Services/Programmes Offered


Key Work Themes of 36 Projects


Our People

BGCA plays a significant role in offering comprehensive services to Hong Kong’s children and youth and their families. During 2015-16, we served 328,2621 children, youth as well as their families through 23,186 initiatives and 114,656 programme sessions. To deliver such wide scope of professional and tailor-made services to our service targets, we have to maintain a strong workforce of approximately 1,000 staff.

We have a robust and well-trained front-line professional team: approximately 40% of our workforce are registered social workers. Others are clinical psychologists, drama/play/physio/occupational/speech therapists, registered nurses, welfare workers, project staff and programme assistants. In addition, we have 52 dedicated teaching staff including principals and teachers to run our 4 kindergartens, and a team of well-trained staff to operate our camp. Behind the scene, we also have a committed management and administration team who provides leadership, financial, HR, administrative and back-end support to our front-line practitioners.

As we are delivering people-oriented services, human resources are critically important to BGCA. Over the year, we devoted considerable efforts in nurturing and grooming the talents in our organisation as well as training and motivating our front-line staff to achieve service excellence. Special Task Forces were also set up to review HR policies, enhance staff structure, benefits and compensations, and to develop sustainable succession, training and development plan. Pilot run of 5-day work week was also implemented during the period from March to July, 2015 for further feasibility study of full implementation in the future.

Staff Composition


Key Management Staff Changes

There had been some key people changes within BGCA’s senior management team. Ms. Lilian Law, Executive Director, was on sick leave from June to December 2015. During this period, we are greatly indebted to Mr. David Yau Po-wing, Hon Secretary of the Association, for his kindness to take the helm as Honorary Interim Executive Director. Ms. Law resumed office in January 2016.

Mr. James Leung, Assistant Director (Corporate Development), decided to leave BGCA in February 2016 after 25 years of service. We thank Mr. Leung’s dedication to BGCA over the past two decades. We were pleased to announce that Dr. Wong Kwai Yau, who has served in BGCA for more than 20 years, was selected and promoted to take over the position with effect from 1 February, 2016.

Ms. Winnie Shum, Head of Finance, started to take sick leave in March 2016 for approximately 6 months. Ms. Carol Chu, Finance Manager, was appointed to take up the Acting Head during Winnie’s absence.

Environmental Policies

Going beyond laws and regulations, BGCA is highly aware of its responsibility towards the community and the environment. We have been working towards adopting various green measures such as sourcing Green suppliers, improving energy efficiency and raising environmental awareness, including adherence to eco-friendly printing and recycling of used paper/ IT equipment / rechargeable battery, separation of waste, using LED and energy efficient lighting, and disposing less items and utensils etc.

Awards

In addition to providing high quality services to our service recipients, BGCA also endeavors to engage the wider public to build a civil society and caring community. Our efforts in encouraging social inclusion and promoting volunteering service were publicly recognized. In 2015-16, BGCA received the following awards:
  1. With a total of 170,660 hours of volunteer service to the community, BGCA received a merit award of Highest Service Hour Award (Public Organizations category) in the 2015 Hong Kong Volunteer Award Presentation Ceremony held by the Steering Committee on Promotion of Volunteer Service of SWD.
  2. BGCA successfully nominated 75 corporate partners to obtain the Caring Company Logo under the Caring Company Scheme 2015/2016, and received the second highest votes of My "LIKE" Exhibition Booth Activity in Caring Company Partnership Expo 2015 held by The Hong Kong Council of Social Service.
  3. BGCA websites for Jockey Club South Horizons and Yau Tong Children & Youth Integrated Services Centre received The 4th Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme Awards – Silver Award organised by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer.

Major Risks and Uncertainties

With increased complexity in services and operations, BGCA attaches great importance to the continual review and enhancement of existing policies, processes, procedures and risk exposures. The Board has also been cautious in identifying and managing various risks, including risks related to finance, service quality, manpower and operations, in order to ensure sustainable development of the organisation.

To achieve this, under the guidance and monitoring of the Audit Committee, a Compliance and Continuous Improvement Department (CCI) was set up in January 2013 to identify key areas of risks and put forward recommendations for improvement and quality assurance of various services. This department was renamed as Internal Audit Department (“IAD”) in July 2015, and the CI (Continuous Improvement) function originally under CCI was transferred to Services Operation last year. This restructuring further delineates the distinctive roles and responsibilities between Internal Audit and Continuous Improvement, allowing IAD to provide independent and objective assessment on various areas in risk management, internal processes and controls, and service quality.

a. Operational Risks:

Manpower

In 2015-16, BGCA has secured over HK$21 million from SWD to establish the “Smile” On-site Pre-school Integrated Service Team to provide on- site rehabilitation services for pre-school children with special educational needs for a period of two years. With the dire demand and limited supply of para-medical professionals such as Physiotherapists, Occupational Therapists and Speech Therapists for such rehabilitation services in Hong Kong, BGCA is faced with keen competition in recruiting and retaining the right talents for delivery of related services. Robust manpower resource planning and management become critical in preventing potential impact for not being able to recruit these professional staff timely.

Also, a number of our senior and experienced staff will be due for retirement in the next few years. Succession planning and development is a major focus to ensure sustainability and competiveness of our high service quality. In this respect, specific Task Forces have been set up to actively address and tackle the challenges.

Service Quality

With the diversity and large scale of services provided by BGCA, the Association is exposed to various risks (both at organisational and operational levels) stemming from our service operations. In addition to observing requirements set by SWD and other funding bodies, effort has been made to systematically identify and mitigate various operational risks, and ultimately ensure service quality. In 2015-16, IAD has completed 10 Service Quality Standards (SQS) audits, one compliance review, one administrative audit, and one Value For Money (VFM) audit across BGCA’s various services. Following the audits, IAD has also made recommendations for continuous enhancement of the operations.

b. Financial Risks:

Sustainability in funding is a fundamental challenge to a non-profit making organisation such as BGCA. The funding of BGCA comes mainly from HKSAR Government as well as commercial and individual sponsors or donors. With the continuous development of BGCA, we inevitably face the uncertainties of securing sufficient funding to support our services particularly when there are changes in Government funding policies or when the factors impacting the macro-economic environment become unfavorable. To mitigate the possible financial risks, BGCA has to maintain a prudent management and proper monitoring of our financial resources. The following actions were taken in 2015-16:
  1. The Finance and Investment Committee (FIC) was established in September 2015 with dedicated effort to guide and monitor matters relating to financial management and investment performance of BGCA.
  2. A special Task Force was set up to review and enhance the organisation’s annual budget preparation process, including a thorough review of non- subvented projects.
  3. Another special Task Force was set up to review the staffing support, structure and salary policies with a view to providing adequate resources to fulfill future commitments for Lump Sum Grant (LSG) services, taking into consideration the potential financial constraints such as future salary revision and Government’s 0-1-1 policy.
  4. With BGCA resuming full management of the HQ building in August 2014 and increased annual rental income, the Estate Management and Development Committee was specifically delegated the responsibility for the development, management and maintenance of the HQ building.

Opportunities and Challenges

Young people are the leaders of tomorrow and they are the most valuable asset in Hong Kong. The fact is, like many other developed economies in the region, Hong Kong has been facing huge challenges relating to ageing population. The number of young people aged between 11 and 23 is shrinking year on year, with 1.16 million in 1996 to 923,000 in 2015. It is anticipated that the number will continue to fall to approximately 841,000 in 2024, representing a substantial drop of more than 27% as compared to 1996.

HKSAR Government understands the dire need to develop our next generation because of the dwindling workforce. Our Government also attaches great importance to providing a favorable environment conducive to the holistic development of young people. Education is one of the major areas that our Government cares about. The expenditure on education for 2016-17 is estimated to reach $75 billion, which is approximately one-fourth of the Government’s total recurrent annual expenditure, and accounting for an increase of 70% over the figure a decade ago.

However, the environment is increasingly complex, competitive and challenging for our young people. They face intense competition and pressure with heavy curricular and extra-curricular activities in their early stage of life. On the other hand, they are living in a deeply divided society with polarized and entrenched opinions, emotional confrontations and finger-pointing culture as to who and what is to be blamed.

At BGCA, we realise that we have a very important role to play at this juncture. We are endeavoring to create positive influences over our next generation and to inspire them to develop a will of taking up responsibilities and to bulid resilience in the face of adversity. Our objective is to nurture a healthy and happy generation that has courage and positive thinking.

As we are operating 75 community service units across the territory and we own the highest number of Integrated Children and Youth Services Centres (ICYSC) in Hong Kong, we see tremendous opportunities to leverage our comprehensive network to serve the young people and facilitate them to grow stronger and better. As ever, we will continue to develop innovative and novel services and strengthen our existing services to support the young people at this time of perplexity. Through a number of children social participation programmes such as “Junior Chief Executive”, “Junior Financial Secretary” and “Junior Councillor”, we wish to encourage our young children to understand the key issues in our complex city and develop critical and independent views on current affairs. Our ultimate goal is to nurture them to become responsible and contributing citizens.

Moreover, we will roll out a series of action plans to enhance their total BGCA membership experiences and enrich our other existing programmes such as interest classes and after school care programmes. We will also launch more tailored-made programmes in 2016-17 to develop children’s creativity through six disciplines, namely, Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Culture & Art (STEMCA).

In face of the overloaded and stressful daily learning schedule for our children, we listen to their voices through systematic studies. We also make our best attempt to reflect their views and persuade concerned parties to take concrete actions such as making pledges to offer more free time to children, encouraging physical fitness programmes and outdoor activities, and promoting quality family time etc. in order to address their stress problems.

Policy advocacy for the benefits of our young people will continue to be one of the major foci of BGCA. We will sustain our efforts in taking an objective approach to understanding issues that have impacts on children and will continue to provide strategic and evidence-based recommendations to our policy-makers.

Our efforts do not just end in Hong Kong. For nine consecutive years, we have served children in Mainland China through direct services or services at schools and in community and family services centres. We provided trainings to Mainland social workers and share our experiences with them. Our Mainland services continue to receive positive feedback from municipal governments, schools and our service targets. With the Chinese government passing the new laws on security controls on foreign NGOs (Law on Domestic Activities of Overseas Non-governmental Organisations), which will be effective from 1 Jan, 2017, we will closely observe and ensure full compliance with the laws and at the same time review our strategies in Mainland China to ensure our resource allocation perfectly aligns with our overall mission and objectives.

We strongly believe in the great value of investing in early childhood development. We shall therefore look forward to meeting Prof. James Heckman (Nobel Prize Laureate in Economic Sciences, Director of Center for the Economics of Human Development, Professor of Economics, University of Chicago, USA) and Dr. James Pawelski, (Director of Education and Senior Scholar, Positive Psychology Center, University of Pennsylvania, USA), in our 80th Anniversary scientific conference in October. They will speak extensively about the rate of return in early childhood development and positive psychology. We shall also actively look for ways and resources to offer rehabilitation services for pre-school children with special educational needs, to provide timely training support for these children at their prime time of development and to help them grow healthily.

Last but not least, we are very enthusiastic, as ever, to establish close collaborations with different stakeholders in the society to explore new possibilities in serving our young generation. We are committed to optimising the resources we have, developing our people and discovering innovative approaches for the benefit of children and youth.

With the strong dedication of our professional workforce, the wise counsel of over 80 passionate Committee Members, the unwavering support from our Government and the generosity of corporate sponsors, individual donors and volunteers, BGCA is steadfast, sagacious and courageous in living up to our mission in serving young people in Hong Kong.

关於本会
年度业务回顾

我们的策略

香港小童群益会秉承优良的传统以及 80 年在香 港服务儿童和青少年的丰富经验,致力成为服务 年轻一代的最领先而备受尊崇的非政府组织。

在过去的 80 年间,我们与儿童、青少年及其家 庭建立了强大的网络。这让我们能够更深切地看 到他们最真实的关注和挑战,从而探索新的想法 和方法来帮助他们应对挑战,并且为他们发声, 倡议有利於儿童和青少年发展的政策。

我们致力於通过研究来提供实证为本的分析和建 议,藉以影响政府施政决策。我们还主动分享我 们的看法,在影响我们年轻一代的议题上提出倡 议,这包括:儿童监护和探视权、免费幼儿教育 政策、儿童权益、低收入家庭补助、「一带一路」 政策,以及如何处理与儿童及青少年有关的家庭 暴力和性暴力等等。

香港小童群益会与时俱进,定期审视策略目标和 服务方向,以确保我们能够紧贴社区不断变化的 需求,并满足服务对象的需要。我们定立明确的 服务重点和优次项目来优化我们的资源,从而使 我们为社会和儿童及青少年发展的长期利益带来 更高的价值。我们坚持发展及栽培机构内多元化 的人才,致力与社会上不同的持份者通力合作, 并为迎接未来全新而令人振奋的青少年服务发展 机遇作好准备。

机构管治

香港小童群益会相信稳健的机构管治是提供高品 质服务的基石。过去一年,香港小童群益会的董 事会都锐意不断提升机构管治体系、流程和实 践。我们的新主席吴彦明医生将与所有委员会成 员一起,恪守最高水准的机构管治承诺,令机构 内各级人员持守诚信操守、高效的管理方式、高 透明度和尽责精神,以达成其使命。香港小童群 益会董事会非常注重履行良好的机构管治,有关 本年度机构管治方面的工作详情,请参看本年报 的机构管治部分(第 23 至 26 页)。

我们的资金和核心服务
2015-16 年度总收入和支出总额分别为 $4.58 亿 和 $4.38 亿。年内总收入的 59%来自政府资助拨款,其余收入有赖会员年费和收费、企业赞助, 慈善信托基金、公众募捐和其他筹款活动筹得的 资金 ; 以及总部大楼租赁收入和利息收入。

我们非常感谢香港特区政府拨款资助;也感谢社 会福利署给予的宝贵指导。我们又特别感谢众多 热心的捐助人、义工和热心公益的企业,谨此感 谢香港赛马会慈善信托基金、香港利希慎基金 会、香港新鸿基地产慈善基金会等的慷慨相助。

我们的服务


36 个特别服务计划的重点主题


我们的团队

香港小童群益会在服务香港儿童和青少年及其家 庭方面担当着重要的角色。在 2015-16 年度, 我们举办了 23,186 个活动以及 114,656 个节数 的项目,一共服务了 328,2621 名儿童、青少年 及其家庭成员。我们拥有一支约一千人的强大团 队,为服务对象提供全面和合适的专业服务。

在这充满活力而训练有素的前线专业团队当中, 约四成是已注册社工,其他包括临床心理学家、 戏剧心理治疗师、游戏治疗师、物理治疗师、职 业治疗师、言语治疗师、注册护士、福利工作员 以及项目职员和助理。此外,我们有超过 52 名 负责教学工作的员工,包括:专职的校长和教师 来营运我们的四所幼稚园 ; 另也有一支专门负责 营舍服务的团队。在他们背後,我们还有管理和 行政人员,领导前线服务的同事,并为他们提供 财务、人力资源、行政和後勤支援。

我们的服务以人为本,人力资源对香港小童群益 会来说至关重要。过去一年,我们致力培养和发 展人才,同时我们还竭力培训和激励我们的前线 员工提升服务质素。我们成立了专责小组来审视 人力资源政策、加强组织架构、薪酬和福利,以 及开发可持续的继任、培训和发展计划。五天工 作周的试行计划亦已经在 2015 年 3 月至 7 月实 施,为将来全面实施进行可行性研究。

员工团队

管理团队的人事变动

於 2015-2016 年度,香港小童群益会高层管理 团队作出部份人事变动。总干事罗淑君女士从 2015 年 6 月到 12 月放取病假。在这期间,我们 非常感激机构义务秘书游宝荣先生能够出任义务暂代总干事一职。罗女士於 2016 年 1 月休假完毕,正式复职。

任职助理总干事(机构发展)的梁永宜先生於今 年 2 月离职。梁先生於本会服务 25 年,我们感 谢梁先生过去对机构作出的贡献。而黄贵有博士 获晋升为助理总干事,接替梁先生的职务,并於 2016 年 2 月生效。黄贵有博士在香港小童群益 会亦已服务逾 20 年。

会计部总监岑汝平女士从 2016 年 3 月开始放取 病假,为期半年。期间,会计部经理朱翠珊女士 被任命为署理会计部总监,统管会计部事宜。

环境政策

除遵从所有法规外,香港小童群益会高度重视履 行我们对社会及环境的责任。我们采用环保供应 商、提高能源效益及提升会内环保意识,如:环 保印刷、废纸回收、废弃 IT 设备和电池回收、 垃圾分类,以及采用 LED 节能照明设施,同时 循环再用物品和用具等等。

所获奖项

除为我们的服务对象提供高质素的服务,香港小 童群益会亦尽其所能鼓励广大市民共同承担公民 的责任,多参与关爱社区的行动。我们在鼓励社 会共融和促进义工服务方面的努力得到了大众的 认可。在 2015-16 年度,香港小童群益会获得了 以下奖项:
  1. 香港小童群益会上年度累计的义工服务时数达 到 170,660 小时,并因此在社会福利署「推动 义工服务督导委员会」主办的「2015 年义工嘉 许礼」上获得「最高服务时数奖」(公众团 体)。
  2. 在香港社会服务联会举办的「2015/16 年度 商界展关怀」上,香港小童群益会成功提名 75 家企业合作夥伴,令他们获得「商界展关 怀」标志;本会在 2015 年「商界展关怀」社区 伙伴合作展的「最 LIKE 展位」中获得最 高点赞票数的第二名。
  3. 香港小童群益会赛马会海怡青少年综合服务中 心和赛马会油塘青少年综合中心的网站 於政府首席资讯科技总监办公室举办的第四 届「无障碍网页嘉许计划」中获得银奖。

主要风险和不确定因素


随着服务和营运复杂度的提高,香港小童群益会 愈加注重对现有政策、流程、程序和潜在风险进 行检讨,并使之优化。董事会在识别和管理各种 与财务、服务品质、人力资源和营运有关的风险 方面一直非常谨慎,以确保机构的可持续发展。

为达到这一目标,在审计委员会的指导和监督 下,「审计和持续改善部」在 2013 年 1 月成立, 工作目标为识别关键领域的风险,并提出改善建 议和各项保证服务品质的方法。该部门在 2015 年 7 月易名为审计部,而原在「审计和持续改善 部」辖下的持续改善职能在去年已转移到服务营 运部。这一架构重组进一步勾划出审计和持续改 善职能之间的职责区分,使得内审部门能够就风 险管理、内部流程和控制以及服务品质方面提供 独立而客观的评估。

(一)运营风险

人力资源

在 2015-16 年度,香港小童群益会获社会福利署 2,100 万元的资助,成立了「乐牵」到校学前综 合服务。该团队派驻学校为学前儿童提供为期两 年的康复服务。本港对提供复康服务的医疗辅助 人员需求殷切,其中包括物理治疗师、职业治疗 师和言语治疗师等。而由於人才短缺,香港小童 群益会在招聘和保留这类专业的医疗辅助人才方 面相当困难。为免未能适时聘得合适的专业人才 而影响我们的服务,本会必须在人力资源规划和 管理上做好准备。

同时,我们许多高级和具有经验的员工即将在未 来几年退休。继任规划和人才开发是本会十分关 注的事项,这样才能维持我们高水平的服务及确 保会务持续发展。在这方面,我们建立了专责小 组来积极面对和解决这些挑战。

服务品质

香港小童群益会提供多元化的大型活动和服务, 在组织和营运这些服务时难免会遇到不同风险。 因此,本会除了十分谨慎和高度重视履行社会福 利署及其他资助团体所定的要求外,亦努力以有 系统的方式去识别和缓解各种各样的营运风险, 目的是确保优质的服务。在 2015-16 年度,审计 部已经完成了 10 项服务品质标准审计、1 项合 规审核、1 项行政审计、1 项涉及机构内各项服 务的效益审计。审计完成後,审计部也对如何持 续提升营运效益提供了建议。

(二)财务风险

对於香港小童群益会这类非牟利机构来说,最基 本的挑战是能维持稳健的资金以持续不断发展我 们的服务。香港小童群益会的资金主要来自香港 特区政府和商业及个人赞助者或捐助者。随着香 港小童群益会的不断发展,若政府在资助青少年 服务的政策上有所转变,或宏观经济环境受到不 利因素影响,我们难免难以掌握是否拥有充足资 金以维持我们的服务。为了缓解可能出现的财务 风险,香港小童群益会必须维持非常慎重的管理 和恰当的资源监控。我们在 2015-16 年度作出以 下行动:
  1. 我们在 2015 年 9 月成立了财务和投资委员会, 致力於指导和监控与香港小童群益会财务管理 和投资业绩相关的事务。
  2. 我们成立了专责小组来审阅和优化机构於准备 全年财政预算计划时的流程,并对所有非政府 资助的项目进行全面的检讨。
  3. 我们成立了另外一个专责小组,从潜在的财 政限制上作出审慎考虑,一方面探讨未来薪酬 调 整, 以 及 政 府 的 0-1-1 政 策 在 财 务 安排上的影响;另一方面,亦审视对员工的 支援,组织架构和薪酬方面的政策,以确定有 足够资源推行未来整笔拨款服务上本会应该履 行的承诺。
  4. 随着香港小童群益会在 2014 年 8 月全面接管 总部大楼的管理,并增加了全年租赁收入, 我们特别委以物业管理及发展委员会专责 处理总部大楼相关的发展、管理和保养的事宜。

机遇与挑战

年轻人是未来的领袖,也是香港最有价值的资 产。事实上,像亚太区许多其他已发展的经济体 系一样,香港也开始面临人口老化所带来的巨 大挑战。11 岁到 23 岁之间的年轻人数目正在逐 年递减。在 1996 年,这个数字是 116 万 ; 而在 2015 年,这个数字已下降到 92.3 万。预计年轻 人人数会持续下降,在 2024 年时将只有 84.1 万, 这意味着对比 1996 年,青少年人口大幅下降了 超过 27%。

本港劳动人口持续减少,而有利的社会环境对年 青人全面发展实在相当重要。香港特区政府十分清楚本港急切需要培育我们的下一代,而教育是 政府最关心的领域之一。在 2016-17 年度,教育 支出预计将达到 750 亿元,大约占政府整体每年 经常性支出的四分之一,相较於十年前则增加了七成。

但是,年轻人所处的环境正变得更加复杂、更具 竞争性和挑战性。他们在人生的早期阶段已要面 对相当激烈的竞争,同时在面对繁重的课堂作业 和课外活动方面,年轻人也感到很大压力。另一 方面,他们生活在一个严重分裂的社会。社会上 出现两极化,而各自有根深蒂固的思想,因此很 容易在不同事件或议题上有所冲突。而社会上亦 衍生一种责难文化,很多时人们都惯於把错失归 咎别人。

有监於此,香港小童群益会意识到我们在这关键 时刻肩负着非常重要的角色。我们努力为我们的 下一代带来积极正面的影响,启发他们发展出承 担责任的心志以及面对逆境坚毅自强的精神。我 们的目标是培养出健康而快乐、勇於承担和思想 正向的下一代。

目前,我们在全港设有 75 个社区服务单位,而 且我们是全港拥有最多综合青少年服务中心的社 会服务机构。既然我们有这样完善的网络,我们 可以利用这优势充分地服务年青一代,使他们茁 壮自强地成长。一如既往,我们持续开发创新和 前瞻性的服务,同时也加强我们现有的服务,为 处於困惑时期的年轻人提供支援。通过许多特别 服务计划如:香港小特首、少年财政司和儿童谘 议员,我们希望鼓励儿童多参与社会事务,多去 理解复杂的社会关键议题,开发他们对时事建立 具批判性和独立的观点。我们最终的目标是培养 他们成为负责任的、乐於贡献社会的公民。

此外,我们还将开展一系列活动计划来加强我们 的会员在香港小童群益会各方面的体验,以及丰 富我们现有的项目,例如兴趣班和课余托管服 务。我们将在 2016-17 年度启动度身订造的计 划,通过六项训练,包括:科学、技术、工程、 数学、文化及艺术,令儿童发挥创意。

儿童每天面对沉重的功课和紧凑的学习安排,实 在不胜负荷,所以,我们通过系统化的研究听取 他们的声音。同时,我们尽力反映他们的看法, 游说家庭和学校采取实际行动,例如:承诺让儿 童拥有更多的自由时间,又鼓励家长多让孩子参加体育运动和户外活动和多给予孩子优质的家庭 活动时间等,希望小朋友的童年能享受童真,少些压力。

香港小童群益会另一个重要的关注点是倡议有关 儿童和年轻一代福利的政策。我们将继续努力, 用客观的方法来了解影响儿童的议题,并将持续 向政策制定者提供策略性和具实证的建议。

本会的工作不只限於香港境内,过去连续九年我 们都直接或透过在学校和社区及家庭服务中心为 国内儿童提供相关服务。我们也为内地的社工提 供专业培训,与他们分享我们的经验。一直以来, 我们在内地的服务都获得来自市政府、学校和服 务受众的积极回馈。随着中国政府通过对境外非 政府组织的相关保安法规(境外非政府组织境内 活动管理法,将於 2017 年 1 月 1 日生效),我 们将密切观察并确保与相关法规的合规性,同时 检视内地服务的策略,以确保我们的资源配置与 本会整体使命和目标完美契合。

我们深信投资在儿童早期发展阶段的回报和意义 是不可量计的。因此在我们今年 10 月举办的学 术会议上,将邀请诺贝尔经济学奖得主、美国芝 加哥大学人力开发经济学中心总监、经济学教授 James Heckman 和美国宾夕凡尼亚大学教育总 监、正向心理学中心高级学者 James Pawelski 博士发表关於儿童早期开发和正向心理学方面之 投资回报的演说。我们亦会积极探讨新的方法和 开发新的资源为有特殊学习需要的学前儿童提供 康复服务,让这些有需要的儿童在其发展的黄金 时期及时得到训练,助他们健康地成长。

最後,我们热切期待,与社会上不同的持份者建 立密切的合作关系,积极探索更多可行的服务使 我们年轻一代受惠。我们承诺,为了儿童和青少 年的福祉,我们会优化所拥有的资源、发展我们 的人才,并不断探求创新的服务领域。

香港小童群益会拥有敬业的专业同工,有超过 80 名充满智慧和热诚的委员会成员,有来自政 府一直以来的资助和企业赞助人慷慨的捐款,还 有大批个人捐助者和义工的爱心支持,我们将坚 定、睿智及果敢地实践服务香港年轻一代的使 命。